Tags

Do you know the song “Michelle” by the Beatles? I think it was written for my Belle!

I’m really loving My Belle!

The extra 3cm at the bottom has made a huge difference. (Now that I look at the photo I see that the camisole I wear underneath has scrunched up a bit over the trousers, so please ignore that.) By the way, you have to wear something underneath as the holes are quite open – unless of course you’re going for the *sexy hooker* look (I can just imagine the amount of disappointed Google searchers when they see this blog in the result page for their * * search. Hahahaha). 

But I digress.

The Rowan Belle pattern was an utter pleasure to follow – so much that I even made a video singing its praises. At times I did however think I made a mistake with the yarn, Drops Cotton Viscose.

It is very splitty, there’s no denying that.  It’s the Rayon threads that seem to fluff up and snag but it’s exactly that thread that gives it its luxurious sheen (being the “viscose” in Cotton Viscose). The Rayon also helps to keep the shape beautifully.  Seeing the completed top has converted me: I will use Cotton Viscose again. Splitting yarn can be forgiven. Suck it up, cause it’s worth it in the end!

So to sum up My Belle, here are the facts.

I made a couple of changes (see yesterday’s post).

I used a 3mm and a 4mm crochet hook (see this post)

I used 9.5 balls of Drops Cotton Viscose in shade no. 29

It took me less than a month to crochet – I started on 14 April and completed it on 14 May. In that time I took a week off to make Lynn’s Retro Looks cushion, so it was about three weeks.

I loved this pattern. If I only make this one item from the Rowan Holiday Crochet book, the book has been worth it.

♫Michelle, my belle.
Sont des mots qui vont très bien ensemble,
Très bien ensemble.
I love you, I love you, I love you.♪♪

P.S. I forgot to say: thank you to everyone who commented on yesterday’s post and also on the sneak peak photo this morning on the Facebook page. It means a lot to me that you love My Belle just as much as I do.