Tags

, , ,

A couple of weeks ago I posted a photo on the crocheTime facebook page of Page 57 of Mollie Makes Issue 13. It was Ilaria Chiaratti’s granny square cushion. Boy oh boy, how pretty is that cushion?!

I wasn’t the only one that thought so. Lynn Holland of OneIMadeEarlierToday thought so too and asked me to crochet her the cushion. I was delighted and got to work immediately; it’s granny squares after all and I loooooove granny squares.

As you only need scraps of yarn, I was able to raid my Stylecraft Special DK stash. Who knew I had so much yarn? After a long deliberation I whittled it down to 16 colours plus white.

I made 36 3-round grannies, of which the last round is always white. I used Ida’s own join-as-you-go method described here, crocheted a giant white granny square for the back and sewed the front and back together with this method.

Then all I had to do was add the six buttons. Mollie Makes Issue 13 came with this pack of 6 cute buttons.

I used two of the Mollie Makes buttons, then raided my button tin for the other four. I would never dream of using six of the same – mix it up and the more the merrier is what I say.

Here are photos of the end product.  There just is something special about colourful granny squares surrounded by white. So fresh and pretty. I love it!

As the article says:

A simple white backdrop is just the thing to show off bright colours, and it works likea dream for this crochet cushion.

I’m only able to enjoy the Retro Looks cushion for one more day as tomorrow she’s going in the post to Lynn and her new home in Lynn’s studio.  It was such fun making this cushion I may just consider making more to sell in my Etsy shop (once I’ve got rid of the wearable crochet bee in my bonnet that is).